Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On “Goddess of 10,000 Names”, I have grown accustomed to having around twenty unique visitors a day, with some days reaching above forty visitors, from all over the world. Granted, those aren’t really impressive numbers at all in comparison with blogs that have well over 1,000 visitors a day, but it’s something I still took personal pride in considering the subject content of Goddesses and Filianism aren’t exactly the most popular topics trending on the Web.

You can imagine how I felt when I logged on yesterday when literally overnight, my readership dropped to zero. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t had a single visitor all day when usually I had at least seven or eight visitors by that time in the morning. You can imagine all the frantic questions I had going through my mind:

“Did I say something wrong?”

“Have my topics gotten too boring?”

“What should I do about this?”

I quickly wrote up yesterday’s article on La Divina Pastora in hopes that new content would help spur my blog forward and spent the next couple of hours before work dreading the day ahead.

Dead_BlogMy job as a nurse aide is a very unforgiving job, especially considering that I work at an Alzheimer’s facility, and I come home with a sore back and neck every night from being expected to lift people who are almost twice my own body weight by myself all day. I love helping the residents and taking care of them, but nursing homes do not provide adequate staff per shift more often than not, and so I usually go home feeling exhausted and depressed. I hardly ever get any feedback from the other staff or family members (nursing in general is an under appreciated career field), although I will admit that one of the nurses did tell me on a particularly difficult day that she wanted me to know that I am doing an excellent job in caring for the residents on my hall. (I am forever grateful for her encouragement!)

6f4332453d8038f6c5c769e3c6093cf0To get my mind off of the difficult work day ahead, I sat down to watch Heartcatch Precure. You heard right, I was watching the anime series highly recommended and talked about by the Aristasian/Cheolurayan group over at Shining World, the same Aristasian/Cheoluranyan group I was criticizing in a couple of former posts about their obsession with anime and Japan. It’s amazing what one can learn when one opens one’s mind to new and different ideas, isn’t it? I’ve been watching it for the past couple of weeks and it’s actually quite good. I don’t know why I didn’t watch it sooner.

Anyways, I was watching episode seventeen, which was about the son of a daifuku shop owner who wanted his father and grandfather to acknowledge his hard work in trying to master the family recipe. Of course, they always rejected his efforts. When he was transformed into a Desertrian (a monster that is created from the person’s distress and frustration) by the villains, the protagonist Cure Blossom told him a line that hit home for me:

“What’s most important is not for them to acknowledge you!…As a Japanese sweets-maker, what’s most important is that you make delicious sweets for everyone! There are times when hard work doesn’t receive acknowledgment. It’s sad, but hard work is not useless. Someday it will bring forth unlimited power!”

640px-Heartcatch_Pretty_Cure!_episode_08_-_Blossom_ShowerAfter shamelessly promoting my blog on various Facebook groups, I only ended up with six visitors at the end of the day, four of them being referred from Facebook to my blog. That’s okay. Being popular or acknowledged is not the most important thing at the end of the day, despite what blogger gurus who want to sell you a product or ad to increase your number of views per day say. What is important is doing what you love to do, despite everything else that goes wrong. I love to write. I love making a difference in people’s lives. That’s what I am going to continue to do, today and every day.

