Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As a Filyani, I frequent the webpage “A Chapel of Our Mother God” quite often. Today as I was scrolling through the “What’s New” section, I was surprised to find a very thinly veiled critique to my original article “My Issues With Aristasia” as the newest addition to the website. I will begin by saying that as a writer, I love feedback. I’m honestly quite pleased to find that my work inspired someone else to address it through their own piece, as it shows that people not only read my articles, but that my articles touch people in one way or another.

Victorian_woman_at_writing_desk-228x2212

Now onto the critique!

(Note: For the remainder of this article, I will use the word Aristasia to refer to the old and new movement, despite an insistence to use the word Cheoluranya, not out of disrespect for the group but rather because most readers are more familiar with the movement as Aristasia)

The critique begins with a Q&A session between Chapel of Our Mother God and Shining World (the new Aristasian portal), although based off of the wording of the article, it was written by the same person, likely a higher up in Aristasian circles. Chapel of Our Mother God first poses the question:

In fact, one blogger has referred to Chelouranya as “the great Aristasian re-branding”. Is that accurate or not?

The wording of the question is an obvious reference to an article written by Sarah Morrigan

Chapel of Our Mother God then asks:

Do you mind if we take a few specific criticisms? Here is one fairly typical example:

More troubling is the lack of concern for social issues in the real world, in favour of focusing on a fantasy Motherland. It’s intellectually frustrating to bring up a topic about current issues (“What do you feel about gay rights? Abortion? Animal rights? The justice system? The economy?) only to be shot down with “We aren’t concerned with critiquing Tellurian problems.”

The criticism is a direct quotation from my blog! I find it humorous that the article treats criticism of Aristasia as though it were commonplace. There are very few articles on the web that criticize Aristasia, at least not intelligently written articles (some crude yabbering about Aristasia occurs on some older forums, but that’s about it)

The author of the Shining World article goes on to explain how issues of Telluria don’t matter to Aristasians, because they are only expatriates living here in this world. She continues by saying that expats are “rarely ‘engaged’ with the issues of another country.” As I have been an expatriate in a country that politically was rather hostile to my home country, I know this is an erroneous statement. As another example, in the United States itself, there are many Latin American expatriates who are concerned with legal issues such immigration laws, as these laws directly affect their population.

obrerasunidas

She goes on to say that  if they do become involved with the issues of another country, it is “through the spectacles of their own country’s way of looking at things,” a statement I agree with. So why not address the issues that directly affect Aristasian expatriates, through an Aristasian point of view? My article about Aristasia wasn’t to demonize Aristasians for not being “good little Tellurians,” as the Aristasians have a point of view that is distinctive from the way most Tellurians, from every country, view the world. Nor was it to criticize innocence and femininity, as I have learned much and still have much to learn from the Aristasians in this area. What I intended to say was:

1. How do you view and cope with the darkness of the world around you? As an Aristasian, if you do not seek to bring change to the world, that is fine, but how do you adapt your worldview to your lifestyle? As a woman who has lived in a foreign country, I know that you can’t do everything the way you did it in the homeland. How do you reconcile your external present reality with your inner cultural identity?

From personal observation, the answer seems to completely ignore the outside world. This can be beneficial to an extent, as there are many corrupting, soul-tainting influences that are unnecessary to immerse oneself in. But a complete lack of concern for the outside world in which one must live is, for the policies that cause innumerable sufferings for all creatures of Dea, Tellurian and Aristasian, maid and animal, is a rather selfish viewpoint, in my personal opinion. As Edmund Burke once said “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men (in our case, maids) do nothing.”

And on the issue of the Aristasian obsession with Japan, which was also addressed in the article:

2. Everything that has been discussed in Aristasian circles in recent days has almost exclusively revolved around topics about Japan. There are lovely cultural aspects that can be found from every corner of the “Tellurian” world, aspects that are adaptable to Aristasian sensibilities. Why the sole focus on Japan?

Either way, the point of my blog is not to critique Aristasia. Considering the huge influence Aristasians have on Filianism (the largest Filianic resource on the web is maintained by Aristasians, as has been seen), as a Filyani, I wanted clarify my own personal views on the movement and provide an alternative perspective of the Filianic faith. I believe that through this blog, I have accomplished that.

victorian-writer1Resources:

For the full critique of my article, visit here:

http://www.mother-god.com/chelouranya.html

For Sarah Morrigan’s critique of the Aristasian movement, visit here:

http://alleycatmews.tumblr.com/post/45981209416/the-great-aristasian-rebranding

 

