Tags

, , , , ,

Anyone who has spent any time researching into Filianism or conversing with Filyanis will note that the general viewpoint consensus is one of conservatism. Granted, this is what drew me to Filianic philosophy to begin with: the pure, innocent, beautiful, feminine outlook on life. On a whole, tattoos are seen by the majority of Filyanis as universally low-class and unattractive, except in traditional societies where tattoos have an established social or spiritual significance.

an-unidentified-japanese-tattoo-artist-works-on-a-woman-s-backside_i-G-27-2749-MO1TD00Z

I will begin by saying that currently, I don’t claim to represent the official Filianic faith. I am simply expressing a personal viewpoint, as a devoted Filyani, that differs from orthodox ideology. I have virgin skin tattoo-wise. I don’t have any desire to get inked anytime in the near future, as I don’t have any particular idea of what I would want or how I would arrange its placement. Last year I wanted to get a tattoo of Santa Muerte on my left upper arm, but I ended up chickening out before I actually went to the tattoo artist to have it done. I also am iffy on the way some tattoos look on people in real life as opposed to photos people circulate on the Internet of their freshly inked tattoo. Granted it may simply a matter of the design (lots of tiny tattoos haphazardly placed are not attractive on anyone, in my personal opinion) or the strange fixation with tanning (which looks horrible as the skin ages, tattooed or not, and is certainly not a good practice for preserving bright, vibrant ink in tattoos), but since tattoos are permanent, I do not want to ink my skin only to have it looking like a cheap, ugly, green blob in ten years. And I absolutely hate how many tattoo aficionados vehemently defend tattooing to the point of making disrespectful comments toward people, particularly women, who do not have tattoos i.e. “Real women have ink and curves.”

images

But I don’t believe that getting a tattoo suddenly makes you a monstrosity to look at. There are many beautiful women with very tastefully done, lovely tattoos, especially in the rockabilly fashion which adds a twist to 50’s styles (although I hate the Photoshopped pictures of Marilyn Monroe circulating around the Internet depicting her with cheap, tasteless tattoos…) A beautiful woman is a beautiful woman, with or without a tattoo. Some people will disagree with me, and that’s quite alright.

tumblr_lrl1sn7J7L1r3px86o1_400

Ultimately, tattoos are what you make of them. Tattoos have been around for thousands of years and they will probably be around for thousands of more years, even after the current Western tattoo fad dies out. In some societies they are a rite of passage, in others an abomination. I don’t believe that either traditional Western society or Japanese society has achieved the epitome of culture and refinement (despite the idea in Aristasian circles that Japan is the closest culture to feminine paradise we have to look up to), so while cultural mores in these societies view tattoos as taboo, it’s irrelevant on a higher, spiritual plane. I believe that on a spiritual level, sincerely marking one’s body as a temple of the Goddess, with images that reflect one’s love for Her, can be just as spiritually beautiful as praying the Rosary or reading the Scriptures. Dea loves who we are on the inside, our hearts and our souls. The outside world with its fickle ways may glorify or demonize our external appearance or beliefs, but Dea’s love is constant and eternal, in all times and all places.

Img256681_Kuan_Yin

