Tags

, , , ,

For the past few days, I have been contemplating the notion of romantic love and pairing off in our culture’s mindset vs. universal compassion. I will be the first to admit that I really struggle with this one, as I find myself constantly falling in love only to be heartbroken. When I fall in love, I can’t stop thinking about the other person. I develop a very intense and emotional attachment, believing that perhaps this is the promised “one”, and that perhaps at last I can finally be happy (after all, according to most of the media out there, isn’t having your significant other by your side the one and only thing that will truly fulfill you?)

kinopoisk.ru

But I find that no matter how hard I try, I always run into the same walls when it comes to romantic love, to one degree or another. I become very depressed when my feelings are not requited, or I discover that my “beloved” are not really compatible after all. Why me? Why does this keep happening to me when I have so much love to offer?

Then I started thinking about the legends of Kuan Yin, the Bodhisattva of Compassion, and how she extended her loving compassion to the world. Maybe I should try that, opening my heart and mind to the millions of people out there who have no one to turn to. It seems like a much more noble and worthy pursuit than the media’s version of romance, and of course is much more beneficial to my nursing career aspirations. Romance and love more often than not is a temporary phenomena these days, and unfortunately half of a romantic relationship is outside of your control. But love, real love, is so much more than that: it is purposeful, meaningful, limitless, and pure.

00kuan_yin_1_

